skip navigation

Hampden-Sydney Tennis Earns No. 2 Seed For 2019 ODAC Tournament

2019 H-SC Tennis Team
2019 H-SC Tennis Team

Tournament Website | Tournament Bracket

HAMPDEN-SYDNEY, Va. -- Hampden-Sydney College has earned the No. 2 seed for the 2019 Old Dominion Athletic Conference Men's Tennis Tournament, and will host a quarterfinal match against No. 7 seed the University of Lynchburg on Tuesday, April 30, at 2 p.m. at the H-SC Tennis Courts.  

The Tigers of first-year head coach Byron Balkin finished their regular season with an overall record of 11-9, including 10-1 in the ODAC, to claim the second seed for this week's conference tournament.  H-SC has won six consecutive contests and eight of its last nine overall.  The Tigers advanced to last year's championship before dropping a 5-1 decision to Washington and Lee University.

Lynchburg has a record of 8-9 overall, 5-6 in the ODAC.  H-SC defeated the Hornets by a score of 8-1 earlier this season on March 26 at home.

Nine-time defending champion Washington and Lee (12-7, 11-0) is the top seed for the ODAC Tournament and will play No. 8 seed Roanoke College (7-11, 5-6) in another tournament quarterfinal on April 30.  The other quarterfinal contests on Tuesday include No. 3 seed Virginia Wesleyan University (14-9, 9-2) against No. 6 seed Randolph-Macon College (6-5, 6-5), and No. 4 seed Guilford College (9-6, 8-3) against No. 5 seed Bridgewater College (8-10, 6-5).  W&L has won 37 overall team titles, including the last nine-straight.

The ODAC Tournament semifinals and championship will take place on Saturday and Sunday, May 4-5, at Virginia Wesleyan's Everett Tennis Center in Virginia Beach.  The semifinals will be played on Saturday, May 4, at 8:30 a.m. and 11 a.m., respectively, while the ODAC Championship match is set for Sunday, May 5, at 10 a.m.  H-SC would play in the second semifinal at 11 a.m. on Saturday with a win past No. 7 Lynchburg.

2019 ODAC Men's Tennis Tournament
Quarterfinals - Tuesday, April 30
Match 1: #8 Roanoke at #1 Washington and Lee
Match 2: #5 Bridgewater at #4 Guilford
Match 3: #7 Lynchburg at #2 Hampden-Sydney
Match 4: #6 Randolph-Macon at #3 Virginia Wesleyan

Semifinals - Saturday, May 4 - Virginia Wesleyan University
Match 5:  Winner Match 1 vs. Winner Match 2 – 8:30 a.m.
Match 6:  Winner Match 3 vs. Winner Match 4 – 11:00 a.m.

Championship - Sunday, May 5 - Virginia Wesleyan University
Match 7:  Championship – Winner Match 5 vs Winner Match 6 – 10:00 a.m.