skip navigation

Tiger Lacrosse Earns Ace Adams Award for Sportsmanship

Tiger Lacrosse Earns Ace Adams Award for Sportsmanship

BALTIMORE, MD-The US Lacrosse Men's Collegiate Officials Committee has named the recipients of the James "Ace" Adams Sportsmanship Award for the 2014 lacrosse season, and Hampden-Sydney has been named the recipient for District 4 (Maryland, North Carolina, Virginia). Initiated in 2006, the awards are presented annually to the college or university in each of the 11 officiating districts whose coaches, players, and fans exhibit the best sportsmanship throughout the season. 

Both college varsity (NCAA all divisions) and club (MCLA) programs are eligible for consideration, with the winners selected by voting among each districts' officials.

Hampden-Sydney finished the 2014 season at 10-8 overall and 6-3 in the ODAC while making an appearance in the ODAC Championship game.

The award exemplifies the tradition of sportsmanship in lacrosse displayed by Ace Adams, who amassed 284 collegiate victories during a coaching career that spanned across five decades and included stints at the United States Military Academy (Army), University of Pennsylvania and University of Virginia. At the time of his retirement in 1992, Adams had the most wins of any active NCAA Division I coach. He was inducted into the National Lacrosse Hall of Fame in 1975. 

The winners of the 2014 James "Ace" Adams Sportsmanship Awards are:


District 1 - Amherst College – Head Coach Jon Thompson

District 2 - Houghton College - Head Coach Joey Wilmot

District 3 - SUNY Maritime College – Head Coach Daniel Lawrence

District 4 - Hampden-Sydney College – Head Coach Ray Rostan

District 5 - Saint Leo University – Head Coach Brad Jorgensen

District 6 - Aurora University – Head Coach Kylor Berkman

District 7 - Miami University – Head Coach Chuck Wilson

District 8 - Louisiana State University – Head Coach Jeff Echols

District 9 - Utah State University – Head Coach Jonathan Atwood

District 10 - University of California, Berkeley – Head Coach Dan Nourse

District 11 - Gonzaga University – Head Coach Lawrence Sullivan

Ten of this year's recipients are first-time winners of the prestigious honor. Utah State, from District 9, is the only repeat winner, having also won the award following the 2009 season.

"The Adams Award demonstrates the commitment of all collegiate officials to identify and recognize good sportsmanship behavior," said Tom Sutton, men's game officials' committee chair. "Those coaches and teams who receive this award have demonstrated excellent sportsmanship on a consistent basis, and we want them to know that it does not go unnoticed and is very much appreciated."

This year's winners will be recognized at the 2015 US Lacrosse National Convention, presented by Champion, at the Baltimore Convention Center, January 23-25.


About US Lacrosse

US Lacrosse, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit corporation, is the national governing body of men's and women's lacrosse and the home of the nation's fastest-growing sport. US Lacrosse has more than 425,000 members in 68 regional chapters across the country. Through responsive and effective leadership, US Lacrosse provides programs and services to inspire participation while protecting the integrity of the sport. Bookmark, like and follow US Lacrosse at, and @uslacrosse, respectively.